Letting go

Letting go

I was walking along the mountain side when suddenly my foot slipped and I tumbled over the edge. My arms flung out wildly by instinct trying to grab hold onto anything it could touch. By chance I grabbed a thick branch and stared in horror at the layer of fog below.

“God, help me! I don’t want to die!”

“Yes, I am here. Don’t worry I am always with you.” The Lord God replied.

“God, please help me! I promise if, you’ll get me down from here, I’ll stop sinning. I’ll be a really good person. I’ll serve You for the rest of my life.”

“Easy on the promises. Let’s get you down from there; then we can talk. Now, here’s what I want you to do. Listen carefully.”

“I’ll do anything, Lord. Just tell me what to do.”

“Okay. Let go of the branch.”

“What?” I asked.

“I said, Let go of the branch. Just trust Me. Let go!”

There was a long silence.

“No God. I said, I don’t want to die! There are too many things to do.” And I hung on even more tightly onto the branch.

Hours went by, and my arms started to ache. I was thirsting and I felt pain in every single muscle and I willed my might to hold on. Finally, as the sun sets, the last bit of strength slipped by me and I let go.

I felt a soft thud and there I was, lying unbroken on a protruding platform just a few feet below the eluding fog.

Leave a Reply

