What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

Think about 3 things this week that went badly – Simple isn’t it?

Saturday’s session was somewhat a gentle nudge to take a step back and think about how God had touched us during the hectic week.

The little things in life are actually what mattered. Hearing the sharing by my fellow community members about their blessings this entire week was heart  warming. The image of their child running towards to them after a long day in the office, or returning home to their spouses.

That itself was a sign of God’s blessings in action. But I would like to talk about how….our sufferings can actually be a blessing in disguise

I’ve spent the entire week thinking about where God was. What was his blessing(s) for me this week. Several incidents this week made me think about the death of someone dear to me.

At the age of 17, I grappled with the lost of my friend as she took her own life due to personal issues. For the next 6 years, I struggled to internalise this suffering and lost by myself. I stopped going to church, hung out with bad company, and led a life of wanton debauchery.

Yet, the prayers from community and the emotional support rendered to me has been overwhelming in helping me to get through this tough period. For the 1st time, I was dealing with my inner demons together with community. And it hit me at that moment that through this emotionally draining period, the presence of community was a blessing itself. The love that I’ve experienced was a testaments of God’s presence that is constantly with us.

Week after week, I began to view the community as a family. Somewhere I could really show my vulnerabilities.

We often turn to prayer in hope that God would to remedy the situation. Like how we hope God could heal a sick relative. I too hoped that God could bring my friend back to this place, or….well take my life away so as to end the emotional pain.

It’s hard to comprehend, but maybe God really is guiding us in our trials. Maybe they’re working towards something bigger. Maybe God is blessing us through the hard parts in our lives. Of course, we always wonder, can’t God find some better way to show us what He needs to?  Can’t He take away the pain and give us happiness? Isn’t that what’s best for us?
But through it all, “the pain reminds this heart that this is not our home.” We know our lives here on earth are only temporary and our real home is heaven. So, it’s possible that the pain has a purpose. “What if the trials of this life are your mercies in disguise?”

It is also an opportunity in some sense to reach out to others. A friend, a co-worker, or someone you know that is suffering. Lastly, when the going for us get’s tough, remember…………..

600777815-Bad-Day.jpg

Leave a Reply

